UNDERTALE

asgorecastle

Undertale is my excuse for why I haven’t gotten anything done in the past week. You’ve probably heard it before but I’ll say it again: Undertale is really, really good. I wasn’t sure if I’d be interested in it, at first. I’ve never been too interested in turn-based RPGs and I often end up disappointed in games that receive a lot of praise. In the end, however, thanks to a friend of mine getting me the game as a gift, I felt obligated to at least give it a try. And I’m very glad I did.

I don’t want to spoil too much for those of you who haven’t experienced the game, yet, but I’ll try to describe what made the game so good for me, personally. You probably know this, too, but something that makes this game very unique is all the different ways you can play it. You can choose to kill everybody, kill nobody, or kill particular characters, and the world around you will react to your choices and create wildly different gameplay experiences. Your experience with Undertale can be as lighthearted or as grim as you desire. But do not think that your morbid curiosity is above consequences.

undertalescreen2

What I really like about the gameplay is that the turn-based battle system is quite engaging. It goes beyond simply choosing an action and watching what happens – you are directly involved in both attacking and avoiding enemy attacks. Your timing needs to be tight and your dodging skills need to be on point, and you need to make an effort to remember enemy attacks and how to deal with them. Deftly avoiding a tricky attack with your arrow-key skills feels great, and this battle style makes me long for similar gameplay mechanics in other RPGs.

The whole experience is so lovingly crafted and finely produced that I couldn’t help but fall in love with it. The characters are all likeable, the writing is interesting, engaging, and hilarious at times, the soundtrack is still stuck in my head, and even with its simple graphical style, Undertale blew me away with its visuals. It’s art, no two ways about it, and exactly the kind of game that reminds me why I love video games so much. If you haven’t played it yet and you’re even remotely interested in it, do yourself a favor and buy this game.

Now that I’ve played through the game three times I’m going to try and get something done instead of listening to the soundtrack or looking up fanart. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

