2016 Plans

seanster2

Just thought I’d fill you in on my personal project plans (PPP!) for 2016. Keep in mind that this is all subject to change. It’s easy to make plans, but hard to get stuff done. Also, I’m fickle. 😛

  • YOUTUBE CHANNEL (DoctorKwack101): Now that the Battle for Bikini Bottom Let’s Play is complete I plan to focus on shorter games for a while – games I can beat in just a few videos, or even one video! This is more of an experiment than anything else, as I want to see if people like a more bite-sized video style or if they like it when I dedicate several months and 30+ videos to completing a game. I’m also hoping to do more video game reviews – primarily Genesis games – as I’m happy with how my quickie review of Zoop turned out. A couple Mortal Kombat animations will probably turn up, too, as helping people figure out how to make them is making me want to make them, myself. Let’s revive the fake fatality scene! After experimenting with shorter videos for a while, the 4th Let’s Play Poll will inevitably turn up, so keep an eye out for it. It’s a star-studded lineup this time, and I’m really curious which game will win.
  • EUROPA: I’m hoping to get Europa finished before too long – if not by the end of February then definitely by the end of March. I’ve got most of the hard stuff taken care of already, but I’m sort of putting off the last big hurdle: developing the boss! I’ve never actually designed a boss fight before, and I’m afraid that it’s going to be very difficult, so I’ve been filling my time with other things while trying to psych myself up for it. I’m hoping to set aside some time this Monday to sit down and get some good work done on it, though, so I should find out just how difficult it is very soon. Once the boss fight is done I’ll start combining everything into levels and working on visual and audio polish.
  • MUSIC: I released The Time I Rode a Horse to the Moon last month, so in the event that I end up not releasing anything else this year, nobody can say I didn’t release any music in 2016! However, me and Enzo are planning to write an album together this year, and Enzo wants to see if we can get it done before 2016 ends. We’re currently in the process of figuring out how we want the album to sound and how the collaboration will work, but once that ball gets rolling I imagine some very strange and interesting music coming out of that project. If I’m lucky, some of Enzo’s creativity will rub off on me. Wish us luck! In the meantime I’m hoping to polish up and release a special edition of “Phases”. I’ve already almost gotten it to a point at which I’m happy with the production, but other more exciting projects have sort of pushed it to the backburner. It’s almost done, though! Honest!
Leave a Reply

